Institutional Accreditation - Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business. 2012

News Article for Institutional Accreditation- Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business

On Friday, March 23, 2012 the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT) conferred the status of Institutional Accreditation on Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business in a formal ceremony held at the institution’s Mt Hope Campus (ALJGSB).

ALJGSB is the first business school in Trinidad and Tobago, and the fourth higher education institution to be accredited by ACTT. The ceremony was attended by the Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education, Senator the Honourable Fazal Karim. In the feature address Minister Karim remarked that institutions like ALJGSB “prepares people to work in the present and in the future.” Minister Karim also commented on the significance of this achievement in the 50th year of Trinidad and Tobago’s independence stressing that now is the time for this country to “move from dialogue to action.”

Other speakers included Professor Miguel Carrillo, Executive Director, ALJGSB; Professor Clement Sankat, Pro-Vice Chancellor and Principal, University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus; Dr Michael Dowlath, Chairman ACTT, and Mr Arthur Lok Jack, after whom the school was re-named in 2005.

Dr Dowlath commented that “though accredited status is voluntary it symbolises a commitment to continuous improvement, excellence and quality.” He also called on the school to continue to produce world class graduates, equipped to contribute to the social and economic advancement of Trinidad and Tobago.

Mr. Arthur Lok Jack, congratulated the institution and remarked that “ACTT’s accreditation gave us the opportunity to benchmark our processes and practices with the best organisations in the world. This process helped us to identify areas of opportunity but to understand as well, how far we have reached.”

The Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago congratulates the Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business for their achievement and thanks them for serving as a model of quality in the local higher education sector.